成功案例


网络犯罪法修订案取消强制驱逐出境

网络犯罪法修订案取消强制驱逐出境

出版在: Khaleej Times

迪拜法庭将对网络犯罪施以电子缓刑和监控

据相关机构报告,阿联酋网络犯罪法新增修订,网络犯罪将不会被强制驱逐出境。

网络犯罪最常见的类型是通过网络侮辱他人或敲诈勒索。根据最新修订的网络犯罪法,并非所有的网络犯罪都要被拘留或者被驱逐出境。取而代之的惩罚措施是对网络犯罪人施以电子缓刑和监控监管,并且,在法律规定的监管处罚期间内,不得再次使用虚拟网络。

根据总统谢赫•哈立夫殿下最近颁布的2/2018号埃米尔法令,迪拜上诉法庭撤销了对一名加拿大籍男子的驱逐出境惩罚。

Al Rowaad Advocates的法律顾问,Hassan Elhais先生对新增定的网络犯罪法表示赞赏,他认为新增定的条例对于那些没有犯罪前科的人来说好处多多。

Elhais补充说道:“之前的网络犯罪法规定,若有外国人通过网络羞辱他人或者进行网络犯罪,都必须遭受监禁或者强制驱逐出境,无论是哪一种方式,对于这些网络犯罪者而言,他们的人生都将毁于一旦。现在,法官可以有这个权力决定是否要将网络犯罪者驱逐出境。而在网络犯罪法没有修正之前,这是绝对不可能发生的。”

“在网络犯罪法修正之后,迪拜上诉法庭撤销了下级法院对于一名加拿大籍男子强制驱逐出境的判决,这名男子之前因为在网络上辱骂他的前东家而被指控。”

“迪拜轻事法庭对该加拿大籍男子的判决,是基于2012年的联邦法律第五条做出的。在修订网络犯罪法之前,网络犯罪者要面临10,000迪拉姆的罚款和强制驱逐出境的惩罚。这件案子是发生在网络犯罪法修订之前的,后来迪拜上诉法庭才撤销了这项判决,因为网络犯罪只是一种较轻的犯罪而不是刑事案件。网络犯罪法修订之后,法庭的判决有益于该加拿大籍男子,然后申请了撤销判决。”

阿联酋的律师Awatif Mohammed解释说道:“网络犯罪法的修订版本,只会宽宥那些情节较轻的案件。至于那些通过网络进行的性犯罪和触犯法律的重大刑事案件,例如仇杀、性威胁、卖淫交易和贩卖人口等,是绝对不会被轻判的。如果犯了这些大罪,轻者被强制驱逐出境,重者判死刑都是有可能的。”

Mohammed补充说道:“对第一次网络犯罪的人施以电子缓刑和监管监控的做法是这个国家建立先进文明的网络犯罪法的重大进步。阿联酋是这个地区第一个对滥用信息网络进行这样处罚的国家。与之举措一致的国家是美国。”

阿联酋网络犯罪法修正案

根据由酋长哈利法•本•扎耶德•阿勒纳哈扬殿下 2018年颁布的第二法令,阿联酋网络犯罪法第26条,联邦法令第28和42条,2012年的打击网络犯罪条令第5条中涉及的关于网络犯罪的条令都会被最新的条例替代。

阿联酋刑法的第42条和第121条的第二段内容说明,法庭有权对犯任何罪的外国人做出驱逐出境的判决,尤其是那些根据联邦法令做出判决的,更加有权对罪犯进行裁决。

2012年的联邦法令第5条,旨在保护曝光在网上的私人信息,包括数据、信息、信用卡号码、银行账户账单和网络支付细节信息等。这扩大了侵犯他人隐私行为的定义,因为偷听他人、传递和披露交流信息(包括音频和视频材料)、偷拍拷贝和私自保留他人的照片、谣传不实信息等都包含在内。

第20条规定,通过网络羞辱或者诋毁他人,无论是谁,都将面临监禁处罚,并且被处以25万迪拉姆以上,50万迪拉姆以下的罚款。如果对公务人员进行侮辱或者诽谤,情节严重者直接被驱逐出境。

如果你有关于房产问题想寻找专家建议,请联系 +971 4 355 8000。

查看所有胜诉案例

询问表







Main Menu

联系我

Success Stories


Deportation made optional in UAE cybercrime law

Published on: Khaleej Times

The court may rule to place the accused under an electronic probation and monitoring.

People charged with cybercrime related cases will no longer be subjected to mandatory deportation following the amendments made to the UAE Cybercrimes Law, according to authorities concerned.

Cybercrimes - most commonly insults and threats issued online - may not necessarily face imprisonment and deportation under the amended cyber crimes law. However, the court may rule to place the accused under an electronic probation and monitoring, and prevent him from using virtual platforms during a period not exceeding the penalty prescribed in the law.

The Dubai Court of Appeals recently overturned the deportation of a Canadian national, based on the Emiri Decree Number 2/2018 recently issued by the President, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

Hassan Elhais, legal counsellor of Al Rowaad Advocates, praised the new changes to the cybercrimes law, saying that it will greatly benefit people who have no criminal records.

"The punishment under the original law for insulting someone via the Internet included jail time and mandatory deportation for expats - both of which can ruin the life of the offender. But it is no longer the case after the amendments made. It is now the judge's decision to impose deportation or not. Earlier, judges had no call as the deportation was obligatory," Elhais said.

"In the light of the new amendment, the Dubai Court of Appeals has recently overturned the verdict of a lower court to deport our client, a Canadian citizen who was accused of insulting his former employer via an email," said Elhais.

The Dubai Court of Misdemeanor's verdict, which was based on Federal Law 5 of 2012, prior to its amendment, included a Dh10,000 fine and a mandatory deportation of the client, said Elhais. He added that the case was put before the Court of Appeals, requesting the overturn of deportation, as the original charge of issuing insults online is a misdemeanor and not a criminal offence. And under the amended law, "The court ruled in our client's favour and ordered the cancellation of the deportation," said Elhais.

Emirati lawyer Awatif Mohammed explained that the changes exclude online sexual crimes and felonies that are referred to the criminal court such as hate crimes, issuing sex-related threats, promoting prostitution, and running human trafficking website.

"Deportation is still obligatory for these crimes and punishments of such acts can even reach death penalty," she said.

Mohammed said that the introduction of electronic probation and monitoring for the first time offences, marks a step in the right direction towards establishing an advanced legal framework for cybercrimes in the country. She added that the UAE is the first country in the region to establish such a penalty for misusing information systems, similar to that implemented in the USA.

Amendments to the UAE cybercrime law

According to the Decree No. 02 of 2018 issued by the President His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan regarding the amendment of the UAE Cybercrimes Law Article Nos. 26, 28 and 42 of Federal Decree-Law No. 05 of 2012 on Combating Cybercrimes, the law will be replaced with updated provisions.

Article No. 42 entails that subject to the second paragraph of Article No. 121 of the UAE Penal Code, the court may decide deportation of a foreigner who is convicted in any of the crimes specified in Federal Decree-Law No. 05 upon execution of the sentence adjudged.

The previous Federal Law No. 5 of 2012 was issued to protect the privacy of information published online including data, information, credit card numbers, bank account statements and details of electronic payment methods. It expands the definition of conduct violating the privacy of others by criminalising eavesdropping, transmitting and disclosing communications (including audio and visual material); taking photographs of others and copying, saving or publishing them; and publishing news, comments, statements and information even if they are authentic.

Under Article 20, any person who insults others or attributes to an incident that make others react with contempt using an electronic site shall be punished by imprisonment or a fine of not less than Dh250,000 and not exceeding Dh500,000. Insult or slander against public employees is considered an aggravating circumstance of the crime and the person will be deported.

If you have any matters of international or local law that could benefit from the advice of our expert lawyers, please contact +971 4 355 8000.

See all success stories

Contact Me







Main Menu

Contact Me